Why Can’t I Just Drive a Toyota??

I heard on the radio one morning that worldwide, a Toyota is sold every three seconds. 
Right there, I thought: Why Can’t I just drive a Toyota?

Now, the name EarthlyTIM isn’t just something I tripped on on some random day whilst taking a drunken walk in the mazes of my mind; I came up with it based on a particular belief I have.

This belief is one that is sort of the glue that holds all of my thoughts – however idealistic – together. It is that we, as human beings, should do our best to make decisions that ensure the EFFICIENT sustainability of Earth. The Efficiency part is just as important as how long we can make it last. Efficiency, at least for me, also implies that there will be an emergent – changing according to the times – way of acquiring new information that may help to increase efficiency without attaching our egos to the ideas that we’ve come up with at the time – by “attaching our egos” I mean that we endorse the idea whilst shying from criticism and/or are too complacent to change it. I believe this to be the deterrent in improving our civilization holistically.

 
I believe this placing of egos on ideas that we’ve come up with tends to breed complacency, it says that where we are is okay to be and keeps us from testing that theory continuously against opposing ideas that may prove it to be irrelevant and/or outdated.

 
This is what I believe is happening with the use of oil. Numerous Energy Summits have been held; delegates from all over the world meet up in conference rooms and for a number of days – I know, how long does it take to say: “let’s just use the clean energy we’ve been hiding from most of the world”?? RIGHT?! – then talk about all the ways of harnessing clean energy types that “cost a lot less to run but are VERY expensive to start up” – I mention this point because all the advocates of oil say this.

 
I think the main reason we – collectively, as a race (humans) – have attached our egos to the idea of burning oil is because of the monetary value it has and how many people have been and stand to make even more money from it.
Anyone benefiting financially from this concept does not want to lose their income; and living in a monetary society, who can blame them?

Now, accepting that we have a monetary economy – yes, I would rather have a resource-based-economy http://www.thevenusproject.com/ – I believe that its biggest fault – and there are MANY – is the concept of Consumerism. There’s a big difference between buying things you need, buying things you want and spending money on things just because of how they’re advertised.

I believe it is this very concept that leads people to believing that not being able to afford fancy things makes one inadequate. It is for that reason that I ask:

Why can’t I just drive a Toyota?

Cars are for transport, not status. Now, sure, if the ride can be comfortable and as fast as you’d like to be travelling then it’s an added benefit but that shouldn’t be the focus of why one should purchase a car. If one makes decisions based on what’s better for the world then we’ll have more hybrid cars – I think people who act smug once they’ve made the decision to do something more “green” are just an equal but opposite part of the consumerism problem.

I believe driving a car as efficient as a Toyota (and I’m sure there are other, possibly better cars; I’ve just had more personal experience with Toyotas) should  be the benchmark of good decision-making; if all you need is a bike, there’s no need to have a car. If all you need is a to drive in the city, having a 4×4/SUV is too excessive. For as long as we’re running on oil, having a car that doesn’t serve only the needs of your everyday travels is wasteful and therefore unnecessary.

So I ask you: why can’t we all drive Toyotas? – your hope for a better future only makes sense if you take the action/s – however small – necessary to make it so, I believe it begins with how we make our decisions about things like energy consumption.

So drive a Toyota, and save your planet. Nay, OUR planet, TODAY

PS. Toyota did not pay me to write this.

May the light in all things be with you

EarthlyTIM

Leave a Reply

