Building With Different Bricks

I usually state my intentions in my introductions; this makes perfect sense for an academic essay. . . but this is a blog …. MY blog, and I’m the one with not only the red pen to decide what’s correct, but the right to decide what’s in the syllabus!

So I’m choosing a more stream of consciousness style *this being said as if I don’t think I already write that way*

I feel as though the structure limits my creativity. My friend, Kiner says he prefers free verse to any structured poem because of the same reason, he said something like: “one sacrifices phrasing something more honestly in order to adhere to the rules of the certain type of poem” – I imagine he means like in the case of a sonnet, one might choose a word that has a specific number of syllables rather than one that would have represented the emotion/ experience/ etc…

That being said, I think trying to maintain a particular structure, is the reason why I haven’t been blogging as often as I would like to *ignores the fact that it’s just an excuse* – so I’m stopping. . .

I’ve stopped now.

Leave a Reply

