Finally Committing To Something. . . Different – Thursday, 3 May 2012

I’m not too good with commitment; I think everyone with a tendency to over-think/analyze things – as friends of mine will confirm that I do all too well – is also. Heck, it took me four attempts just to find a First Sentence I could stick with. So as you’ve probably guessed, this article is about my (usually failed) relationships – or lack thereof – with girls . . . and then women (not necessarily when I got older – yeah, I’m shrugging right now. Haha).
Okay, I guess it’s only fair to state my main motivation for this: everyone I know (friends; acquaintances and colleagues) – who isn’t as emotionally-retarded as I constantly seem to be – is in a committed relationship: my sister, along with most of my cousins, is married and my brothers are both engaged. I, on the other hand, have not had a “girlfriend” since 2008 – yeah, I’ll let that sink in. . . . . . .

So, now that we’re over THAT; I’m going to go as far back as I remember and hopefully stumble upon the cause of my current state – yeah, I think I know it already but how good would this article be if I didn’t draw the story out so that there was some cathartic conclusion to it?

Yeah, it would still be a near–reminiscent rant of an emotionally–retarded overgrown boy SO; I’m going to just get to the meat of the story because seriously; how long can a three-paragraph introduction get? (that question’s rhetorical – that statement was obvious)

OKAY, no more stalling: when I was fourteen, I made a decision which, in hindsight may be the root cause of my emotional-retardation. The decision was to not express my negative emotions (mainly anger) to whoever made me feel them; this would – unknowingly so – keep me from expressing any emotion whatsoever.
This wasn’t a problem until I started dating a girl two years later (when my lack of expression was in full force) whom I was in love with; well, as much as a sixteen year old with an emotional “problem” can be. She wanted to change a few things about me, which I cannot – or just won’t – state so we she broke up with me; you can imagine my shock when her friends came to me afterwards to ask me what I’d done to her. CAN YOU IMAGINE?!?! – wait, I already said you could.
Anyway, one of the things she wanted to change about me was my expression of my feelings – yeah, we’ve established the lack thereof by now so I’ll just call it this from here on. In all fairness to her, I couldn’t have been that great to be in a relationship with, I’m sure she would’ve received more emotional fulfilment from a plank: she still would’ve been as emotionally-unfulfilled; but she would’ve at least expected it.

So, I got my heart broken and I HATED it – yeah, I know how I don’t have a monopoly on that – so I did what any inexpressive fool would do, I decided to carry on with my expression of my feelings; even worse, I decided that I would be more detached in relationships until I was sure that they were going somewhere; this would have a VERY unexpected result: all the girls/women hooked up with (I say “hooked up” because I didn’t quite view them as relationships – which is sad because they did) had dads which, I later came to find out, were just as detached as I was; this made my flings end up as one-sided relationships.

I was more than happy to carry on this way until I realised that I don’t have a date for some things . . . or I have a different date the next time.
So, now I’m trying to be less of a plank; unfortunately I spent too long doing so and I have to learn to “unplank” myself.

So, after all that time committing to not committing; I’m working my way back to committing to something less cowardly; standby for results.
So, this can’t be as cathartic as I wanted, but that’s what happens with unfinished tales so I suppose the thing to do would be to say: to be continued.

May the light in all things be with you.
One. Earth.

2 thoughts on “Finally Committing To Something. . . Different – Thursday, 3 May 2012

  1. Commitment is not the hard part, but showing your emotions is the difficult part. Being emotionaly available is hard, ‘phela” as a man you are brougt up to be hard and show no emotion. I balame my dad for this, no manly figure was available in my life to teach me how to show emotions. Till this day I find it difficult to show emotions. I don’t know how to but I’m learning along the way, try to learn from others. Listening is there first step and the rest will fall into place. Nice read BRO!!!!! One

    Like

Leave a Reply

